Frequency Coordination Information

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has been designated by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) as the National Frequency Coordinator for the Highway Maintenance frequencies in the Public Safety Radio Service. As it has through more than 40 years of frequency coordination, AASHTO continues to rely heavily on a network of local coordinators. There is a designated local coordinator for highway maintenance frequencies in each of the 52 AASHTO member departments who possesses technical knowledge and is familiar with local terrain and radio propagational characteristics necessary for proper coordination of the frequencies.

AASHTO is a not-for-profit corporation organized under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. To accomplish its role as a National Frequency Coordinator, AASHTO must assess fees to frequency applicants to recover the costs of necessary staff and support coordination services, including the maintenance of an automated frequency coordination database, as well as attendant contracted services and programs. The purpose of these web pages is to set forth and describe the current schedule of fees and related operating policies.

The FCC requires that all applications for radio station or system licenses be approved by the appropriate frequency coordination agency before submission to the FCC. AASHTO coordinates eligible highway maintenance and local government communication system frequency applications.

AASHTO is eligible to perform frequency coordination for Public Safety Pool (Local Government Radio Service) applicants, as well as process radio licenses for fire, police, and forestry conservation radio services applicants when the frequencies assigned are those that were designated as local government radio frequencies or highway maintenance radio services, prior to October 17, 1997.

Need More Information?

Toll-Free for AASHTO Members: 888-601-FORM (3676); Fax: 706-754-2745

Venkat Nallamothu, P.E.
Program Manager, Operations
vnallamothu AT

CTSO Communications Working Group
Ferdinand Milanes
Co-Chair, Caltrans

Paul Gilbert
Co-Chair, TxDOT


Michael Henderson
mhenderson AT

Kathi Buczkowske
kathi AT